Belfast Telegraph

Wednesday 20 August 2014

Casey gets amazing hole in one

An amazing hole in one by Paul Casey, the first in the Ryder Cup since Howard Clark in 1995, has earned him and David Howell a 5 and 4 victory over Stewart Cink and Zack Johnson.

Already five up with five to play, the European pair knew victory was surely

only a matter of time, but Casey made certain in incredible fashion.

Ignoring captain Ian Woosnam's advice on club selection, Casey chose a

four-iron and struck a magnificent shot which landed right on line and rolled

inexorably into the cup for only the fifth hole in one in Ryder Cup history.

That meant Cink did not even need to hit his tee shot, and was even

technically conceded a hole in one as well as it did not matter to the result of

the match.

It put Europe 9 1/2-4 1/2 ahead

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting? customercare@belfasttelegraph.co.uk

Latest News

Latest Sport

Latest Showbiz