Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Three newcomers in South Africa team for Lansdowne tie

Published 08/11/2006

Three South Africa players are due to make their international debuts against Ireland in this Saturday's test match at Lansdowne Road.

Bevin Fortuin is named at full-back, with Jaco Pretorius and Francois Steyn starting on the wing.

Elsewhere, Brian Habana moves to the centre as expected, where he will partner John de Villiers, with Ricky Januarie and Andre Pretorius the half-back pairing.

In the forwards, hooker and captain John Smith is joined in the front row by Lawrence Sephaka and CJ van der Linde.

Johan Ackermann and Albert van den Berg make up the second row, with Danie Rossouw named at number six, Juan Smith at number seven and Pierre Spies at number eight.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More


From Belfast Telegraph