Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Derry lose out again on league

Published 18/11/2006

Derry City have failed for the second consecutive season to win the Eircom League title.

Despite beating Cork by a single goal, last season's runners up did not do enough to overhaul Shelbourne, who defeated Bohemians.

Mark Farren got the winner for Derry after 11 minutes after beating Cork keeper Michael Devine to a loose ball and drilling the ball into the net.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph