Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Reynolds and Major to get freedom of Cork city

Published 20/06/2008

Former Taoiseach Albert Reynolds and former British Prime Minister John Major are to be awarded the freedom of Cork city this afternoon.

The decision to honour the two men was made because of their combined contribution to the peace process in the North.

It hasn't been welcomed by everyone, however, with some local Labour, Sinn Fein and Socialist Party councillors voting against it.

Previous recipients of the freedom of Cork city include Eamonn de Valera, John F Kennedy, Roy Keane and Michael Flatley.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph