Belfast Telegraph

Wednesday 17 September 2014

Belfast Telegraph Business Awards: Runners and riders announced

Judges are pictured after sifting through entries. Front row left to right: Jackie Henry, Deloitte; Anne McGregor, NI Chamber of Commerce; Professor John Simpson, chairman of judges; Brenda Morgan, British Airways. Back left to right: Professor Neil Gibson, NI Centre for Economic Policy; Alastair Hamilton, Invest Northern Ireland; Robert Kennedy, Caterpillar; Dr Joanne Stewart, Attrus Ltd and Colin Walsh, Crescent Capital and chairman of CBI (NI)

The finalists of the Belfast Telegraph Business Awards 2014, in association with British Airways, have been revealed ahead of the gala dinner on March 27.

The 10 categories received a record number of entries and the standard was exceptional, according to judging chairman John Simpson.

"The quality and the enthusiasm of entries continued to increase on previous years," he said.

"It's a tribute to the quality of business in Northern Ireland that as the economy recovers they are showing enormous promise as creators of wealth in Northern Ireland."

The winners will be revealed at the gala awards dinner on Thursday, March 27, 2014 at the Culloden Hotel.

A table of 10 is £900+Vat and individual places are £100+Vat.

For further information or to book a table contact Sarah Weir (JPR) on 028 9076 0066 or email

Twitter: @beltel_business and the #beltelawards

The finalists

Excellence in Marketing sponsored by Ulster Business School

3FiveTwo Group



Excellence in Exporting sponsored by Danske Bank

AJ Power

Marlborough Engineering


Excellence in Development of Management and Leadership sponsored by the Department for Employment and Learning

Grant Thornton

People 1st


Excellence in Innovation

Almac Group

Core Systems

Randox Laboratories

Outstanding Service to Business sponsored by Begbies Traynor

Belfast Metropolitan College

Capita Managed IT Solutions

Extras NI

Best Use of Digital and/or Social Media

Culture Company 2013


Young Businessperson of the Year sponsored by Selective Travel Management

Cathal Grant – CGDM Ltd

Kate Speers – Ivory and Pearl

Mark Hutchinson – SJC Hutchinson Engineering

Excellence in Technology sponsored by Cleaver Fulton Rankin

Almac Group



Best Small / Medium Business sponsored by Invest Northern Ireland

AJ Power Ltd

Biokinetic Europe

Marcon Fit-out

Excellence in Corporate Social Responsibility

Allstate NI

Allstate NI

Henry Brothers

Moy Park


COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?



Company Profiles


Help & Advice


People on the move