Belfast Telegraph

Monday 20 October 2014

In Pictures: CIPR Coca Cola Northern Ireland Media Awards

To launch CIPR Awards gallery clocik More Pictures below
Photo by Simon Graham/Harrisons
Photo by Simon Graham/Harrison Photography

BBC broadcaster Justin Webb hosted the gala night at Belfast's Europa Hotel.

The Tele was the main winner at the weekend’s glittering ceremony with our journalists picking up seven of the event’s top awards.

List of Winners

Who won what: The full list of winners

Coca-Cola CIPR Newspaper of the Year

Belfast Telegraph

Lifetime Achievement Award

Roy Lilley, former editor, Belfast Telegraph

Media Website of the Year

Belfast Telegraph

Business Journalist of the Year

Claire McNeilly (Belfast Telegraph)

Commended: Margaret Canning (Belfast Telegraph) and Amanda Poole (Belfast Telegraph)

Feature Journalist of the Year

Jane Hardy (Belfast Telegraph)

Commended: Gail Walker (Belfast Telegraph)

Production Journalist of the Year

Heather Byrne (Belfast Telegraph)

Magazine/Supplement of the Year

Titanic Tales supplement, Belfast Telegraph

Special Journalist of the Year

Seanin Graham (Irish News)

Commended: Lindsay Fergus (Belfast Telegraph), Lesley-Anne McKeown (Belfast Telegraph)

Print News Journalist of the Year

Ciaran Barnes (Sunday Life)

Commended: Deborah McAleese (Belfast Telegraph)

Political Journalist of the Year

Ken Reid (UTV)

Commended: Liam Clarke (Belfast Telegraph)

Columnist of the Year

Roisin Gorman (Sunday World)

Commended: Gail Walker (Belfast Telegraph)

Coca-Cola CIPR Martin O'Hagan Memorial Bursary Newcomer of the Year

Niall McCracken (the

Commended: Jamie McDowell (Belfast Telegraph)

Overall Journalist of the Year

Seanin Graham (Irish News)

Commended: Ciaran Barnes (Sunday Life)

Scoop of the Year

Ciaran Barnes (Sunday Life)

Sunday Newspaper of the Year

Sunday World

Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Impartial Reporter

Weekly Newspaper Journalist of the Year

Ciara Colhoun (Down Recorder)

Environmental Journalist of the Year

John Manley (Irish News)

Commended: Linda Stewart (Belfast Telegraph)

Sports Journalist of the Year

Paddy Heaney (Irish News)

Commended: Steven Beacom (Belfast Telegraph)

News Broadcaster of the Year

Sharon O’Neill (UTV)

News Programme of the Year

Spotlight (BBC Northern Ireland)

Photographer of the Year

Colm Lenaghan (Pacemaker)

Sports Photographer of the Year

William Cherry (Press Eye)

Regional Photographer of the Year

John McVitty (Impartial Reporter)

News Photographer of the Year

Colm Lenaghan (Pacemaker)

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?



Company Profiles


Help & Advice


People on the move