Belfast Telegraph

Wednesday 24 September 2014

In Pictures: Pub of the Year Awards 2012

Padraig Cribben, Dr Alasdair McDonnell MP, Colin Neill and Colin Wilkinson
Roy Willighan, Gillian Willighan, Margaret Scott
Mark Stewart (right), chair of Pubs of Ulster, joins BBC sports correspondent, Stephen Watson to present Linda and Joanne Dunlop with the Pubs of Ulster's Chairman's Award. The award is the Pub of the Year Awards first posthumous honour, as the late Joey Dunlop was celebrated for his contribution to the local licensed trade and his inspiring charitable work.

The search to find Northern Ireland’s top pubs ended with a gala ceremony at Belfast City Hall for the Pubs of Ulster’s Pub of the Year Awards 2012.

The Pub of the Year Awards celebrate the excellence that exists in the local pub trade by presenting top awards to the winning pubs in a range of categories, including the coveted Northern Ireland Pub of the Year Award which was presented by Mark Stewart, chair of Pubs of Ulster, to Pier 36 in Donaghadee.

As well as taking the top Pub of the Year title, Pier 36 was also named Best Tourism/ Visitor Pub 2012.

Celebrating the award win, Lewis Waterworth, from Pier 36, said: “We are honored and delighted to bring the prestigious Pub of the Year 2012 and Best Tourism/ Visitor Pub titles to Donaghadee.

“We have invested a lot in the bar over the last number of years, especially in staff training and our overall customer service, as our biggest priority is always ensuring that our customers have the best experience when they visit us. I would like to thank all of our great staff, as if it wasn’t for their hard work and dedication, Pier 36 wouldn’t be the bar that it is today. To receive recognition at the Pub of the Year Awards is a great incentive for us, especially in these tough economic times, to continue to develop Pier 36. Whilst encouraging us, I also hope the awards help ignite the industry and inspire all pubs to dig in and show the world how great the local trade is.”

The Pub of the Year Awards is the culmination of an extensive search for the best pubs in a range of categories across Northern Ireland. Finalists were selected following an extensive judging process and were judged, depending on their category, by written submissions, interviews or by independent mystery shoppers. An independent judging panel comprising of Martin Breen, editor of the Sunday Life; Gary McDonald, business editor of the Irish News; Adrienne McGill, business editor of the News Letter; Paul Connolly, managing editor of the Belfast Telegraph and Louise Murphy, editor of Hospitality Review then decided on the overall winners.

The Pub of the Year winners in each category are:

Northern Ireland Pub of the Year: Pier 36, Donaghadee

Best Neighbourhood Pub: The Front Page Bar, Ballymena

Best Food Pub: Bureau by the Lough, Whiteabbey

Best Family Friendly Pub: Curran’s Bar & Seafood Restaurant, Downpatrick

Best New or Improved Pub: Devlin’s Bar, Armagh

Most Innovative Pub: McHugh’s, Belfast

Best Tourism/ Visitor Pub: Pier 36, Donaghadee

Bar Hero: Willie Gregg, The Harbour Bar, Portrush

Sunday Life Readers’ Choice Award: Head O’ The Road, Tartaraghan

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?



Company Profiles


Help & Advice


People on the move