Belfast Telegraph

Lupita invited to join Academy

Lupita Nyong'o and Michael Fassbender have been invited to become members of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

The 12 Years A Slave stars have been asked to join Hollywood's most exclusive club, alongside 271 people who work in the movie business.

Jason Statham, Chris Rock and Julia Louis-Dreyfus are among those invited to the actors branch, while m usic invitees include Pharrell Williams, Eddie Vedder and the Oscar-winning writers of Let It Go, from Disney's Frozen, Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez.

The film academy extends invitations annually to new members. Candidates are suggested by existing members of each of the organisation's 17 branches.

Those who join the Academy become permanent members and cast ballots for the Academy Awards.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph