Belfast Telegraph

X-Men: Apocalypse cast announced

Bryan Singer has revealed who the new cast members of X-Men: Apocalypse will be.

The director of the new X-Men film tweeted that Sophie Turner, Tye Sheridan and Alexandra Shipp have all been signed up for the next instalment in the franchise.

As Apocalypse is a prequel to the original films, the actors will play younger versions of the mutants - Game Of Thrones star Sophie will be Famke Janssen's Jean Grey, Mud's Tye will take on James Marsden's Scott Summers or Cyclops, and Alexandra, who starred as Aaliyah in a TV biopic, is confirmed for Halle Berry's old role as Ororo Munroe, or Storm.

While James McAvoy as Professor Charles Xavier, Michael Fassbender as Magneto and Jennifer Lawrence as Mystique will be the main focus of the film, it isn't clear yet whether Bryan is lining up the new generation cast to take over as the main stars in future releases.

Earlier this week, Sir Patrick Stewart confirmed that he and Sir Ian McKellen would not be involved this time as the older versions of Professor Xavier and Magneto.

X-Men: Apocalypse is set to be released in cinemas on May 19, 2016.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph