Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Gloria Gaynor to open National Television Awards with disco tribute

American singer Gloria Gaynor will open this year's National Television Awards (NTAs) with a tribute to the disco era.

This year the NTAs will celebrate their 21st anniversary as the awards honour the best talent from TV's biggest shows.

The awards are being hosted by former X Factor presenter Dermot O'Leary, who has filmed a short segment with NTA nominee Bear Grylls, to be shown before Gaynor's performance.

The film will show O'Leary being put through a few tasks by Grylls ahead of his presenting stint.

ITV drama Downton Abbey will be taking on Doctor Who in the drama category, which also sees shows like Casualty and the second series of ITV's Broadchurch nominated.

The popular TV show written by Julian Fellowes bid a festive farewell to fans when it aired for the last time on Christmas Day.

This year the awards will also debut a new category, New Drama, which features nominees like Poldark, Doctor Foster and Channel 4's futuristic Humans vying for the title.

ITV will broadcast the star-studded event live on January 20.

Voting is open for the final round which will decide the NTA winners.

Fans can cast votes at and use the same website to book seats for one of TV's biggest nights of the year.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph