Belfast Telegraph

Lambert rocks ACMs

Miranda Lambert scooped top prizes at the 2014 Academy of Country Music Awards.

The country music singer took home top honours at the annual prize-giving, co-hosted by her husband, Blake Shelton, and pop country singer Luke Bryan at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Miranda beat out competition from Sheryl Crow, Kacey Musgraves, Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood to take home the gong for Best Female Vocalist.

Her hit Mama's Broken Heart also won Best Single Record, a category shared with Florida Georgia Line, Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift, Keith Urban, Lee Brice and Lady Antebellum.

The country diva’s duet with Keith scored her a third honour, winning Best Vocal Event.

Jason Aldean was also a big winner, scooping the prize for Best Male Vocalist. Lee Brice, Luke Bryan, Blake Shelton and Keith Urban were also up for the honour.

Other big winners included Florida Georgia Line, which took home the prize for Best Vocal Duo, as well as The Band Perry, which won Best Vocal Group.

Best New Artist went to Justin Moore, who was competing against Kip Moore and Brett Eldredge for the prize.

Despite losing to Miranda during the evening, Kacey Musgraves did score a big win of her own with Album of the Year for her release Same Trailer Different Park.

Entertainer of the Year went to country music legend George Strait.

The main list of winners for the 49th annual Academy of Country Music Awards is as follows:

Entertainer Of The Year: George Strait

Male Vocalist: Jason Aldean

Female Vocalist: Miranda Lambert

Vocal Duo: Florida Georgia Line

Vocal Group: The Band Perry

New Artist: Justin Moore

Album Of The Year: Same Trailer Different Park, Kacey Musgraves

Single Record: Mama's Broken Heart, Miranda Lambert

Song: I Drive Your Truck, Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, Jimmy Yeary (Lee Brice)

Video: Highway Don't Care, Tim Mcgraw Featuring Taylor Swift And Keith Urban

Vocal Event: We Were Us, Keith Urban And Miranda Lambert

© Cover Media


From Belfast Telegraph