Belfast Telegraph

Lambert sweeps CMAs

Miranda Lambert and Blake Shelton both broke CMA Awards records Wednesday night.

According to the Country Music Association, the star set a new record with her win for Female Vocalist of the Year, marking the longest winning streak in the category.

Martina McBride, Kacey Musgraves, Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood were also nominated for the prize.

The Automatic singer also took home Single of the Year for the hit track, as well as Album of the Year for Platinum.

It was a big night for Miranda’s husband, Blake Shelton, as well.

Blake was crowned Male Vocalist of the Year, marking his the fifth consecutive win in the category for the star, who is now tied with Vince Gill for longest winning streak and most wins.

The category included competition from Dierks Bentley, Luke Bryan, Eric Church and Keith Urban.

Luke Bryan was meanwhile crowned Entertainer of the Year, fighting off competition from the husband and wife country music stars, as well as George Strait and Keith Urban.

Little Big Town won Vocal Group of the Year, beating out the Eli Young Band, Lady Antebellum, The Band Perry and Zac Brown Band for the prize.

Carrie Underwood and Brad Paisley hosted the proceedings for the seventh year.

Performances included a duet with Miranda Lambert and Meghan Trainor, as well as hits from Kacey Musgraves, Carrie Underwood, Loretta Lynn, The Doobie Brothers, Keith Urban, Tim McGraw, Jason Aldean, Blake Shelton, Florida Georgia Line and Lady Antebellum, among others.

A full list of winners from the 2014 CMA Awards is as follows:

Entertainer of the Year: Luke Bryan

Single of the Year: Miranda Lambert, Automatic

Album of the Year: Miranda Lambert, Platinum

Song of the Year: Kacey Musgraves, Follow Your Arrow

Female Vocalist of the Year: Miranda Lambert

Male Vocalist of the Year: Blake Shelton

Vocal Group of the Year: Little Big Town

Vocal Duo of the Year: Florida Georgia Line

Musical Event of the Year: Keith Urban feat. Miranda Lambert, We Were Us

Musician of the Year: Mac McAnally, guitar

Music Video of the Year: Dierks Bentley, Drunk On A Plane

New Artist of the Year: Brett Eldredge

© Cover Media


From Belfast Telegraph