Belfast Telegraph

Friday 31 July 2015

Balmoral Show Results: Day Two

Published 15/05/2009 | 08:40



Champion: Hillhead Blondes, Castledawson

Reserve: Kenneth Archer, |Dungannon

Cow or heifer born in 2006

1st: Kenneth Archer, Dungannon

2nd: Gerard Stranney, Downpatrick

Heifer born on or after January 1st 2007

1st: Ivaniskey Limousin. Blondes, |Dromara, Co Down

2nd: Hillhead Blondes |Castledawson

Heifer born on or |after July 1st 2007

1st: H D Dorman, Dungannon

2nd: Drumraymond Blondes, |Toomebridge


Commercial Beef Heifer

1st: William McAllister, Kells

2nd: James Alexander, |Randalstown

Beef Bull Inter-Breed |Performance Class

1st: Derek Hume, Randalstown

2nd: Thomas John Adams, |Banbridge.


21 TO 25 YEARS

1st: William McElroy, Dromara

2nd: William McMordie, |Newtownards

16 TO 21 (20 minutes |preparation)

1st: Philip Green, Lisburn

2nd: Kim Steele-Nicholson

12 TO 16 (40 minutes |preparation)

1st: Rachel McAlister, Coleraine

2nd: Naomi Gregg, Ballymena



Champion: Leslie Hazlett, Ballymena

Reserve: Paul Owens, Maghera

Pony, Single Harness, Open

1st: D N Boyd, Carryduff

2nd: Robert Doran, Annalong

Horse, Single Harness, Open

1st: Leslie Hazlett, Ballymena

2nd: Paul Owens, Maghera


Cob Mare or Gelding

1st: Michele Floyd, Ballynahinch

2nd: C Dennison, Banbridge

Private Driving

Champion: Jonathan Carnduff, Millisle

Reserve: G Fawcett, Saintfield

Open Class, not exceeding 138 cms

1st: William McAnally, Finaghy

2nd: Mrs M Hampton, Downpatrick

Open Class, exceeding |138 cms

1st: Jonathan Carnduff, Millisle

2nd: G Fawcett, Saintfield


Champion: M & Ryan J Lewis, Banbridge

Reserve: Susan Roberts, Comber

Mare or Gelding – over 5 year old

1st: M & Ryan J Lewis, Banbridge

2nd: Rosemany Connors, Woodstown. Co Waterford

Ladies Hunter Riding Astride

Champion: Rosemary Connors, |Woodstown, Co Waterford

Reserve: Lynn Boggs, |Dungannon

Ladies Hunter Riding Astride, Mare or gelding – 6yo plus

1st: Lynn Boggs, Dungannon

2nd: Dr Antonia Lethane, |Ratoath, Co Meath

Mare or gelding, 4 to 5 years’ old

1st: Rosemary Connors, Woodstown, Co Waterford

2nd: Rose Boyd, Lurgan


Two Year Old Gelding

1st: Noleen Broderick, |Dunganstown, Co Wicklow

2nd: Hugh McCusker, Lurgan

Two Year Old Filly

1st: Francis Dunn, Donaghadee

2nd: Lawrence Patterson, |Ballynahinch

Three Year Old – lightweight |gelding foaled in 2006

1st: Tiernan Gill, Ballina, Co Mayo

2nd: Hugh McCusker, Lurgan

Three Year Old – medium weight gelding foaled in 2006

1st: Mrs Diane Gibson, |Newtownabbey

2nd: Francis Dunn, Donaghadee

Three Year Old – filly foaled in 2006

1st: Paul Horner, Lisburn

2nd: F Dickey, Ballymena



Ram, born before December 1st 2008

1st: J & M McCauley, Clough, |Co Down

2nd: J & A Fletcher, Comber, |Co Down

Ewe – two shear and upwards

1st: J & A Fletcher, Comber, Co Down

2nd: S Doyle, Castlewellan


Ram – Two shear and upwards

1st: James Cleland, Hannastown

2nd: McAllister & Kennedy

Shearling Ram

1st: J T Foster, Castlederg

2nd: James Adams, |Ballymena

Ewe – Two shear and upwards

1st: Victor Chesnutt, Bushmills

2nd: Henry Gamble, |Groomsport


Ram two shear and upwards

1st: Gary Beacom, Kesh

2nd: Philip Gurney, Coleraine

Shearling Ram

1st: Mark Priestly, Seaforde

2nd: William Tait, Omagh

Ewe – two shear and upward

1st: Norman Robinson, |Downpatrick

2nd: Tom Bailey, Dunboyne, Co Meath

Hampshire down

Champion: J & M McCauley, Clough

Reserve: J & M McCauley, |Clough



1st: Jack Robinson, Northern |Ireland

2nd: Ian McKnight, Northern |Ireland


1st: Robert Davidson, Northern Ireland

2nd: Darren McKinty, Northern Ireland


1st: Trevor Clarke, Northern |Ireland

2nd: Stanley Allingham, Northern |Ireland


1st: Matt Smyth, New Zealand

2nd: Hamish Mitchell, Scotland


Champion: Peter Woods, Lisburn

Reserve: Geoffrey Ringland, Banbridge

Female Goat in milk: BritishSaanen herd book

1st: Peter Woods, Lisburn

2nd: Geoffrey Ringland, |Banbridge

Female Goat in milk: Toggenburg/British Alpine

1st: Galbraith Brothers, Portstewart

2nd: Lindsay Greer, Castlewellan

Female Goat in milk: British Anglo Nubian herd book

1st: A& Y Hamilton, Moneyrea

2nd: Peter Woods, Lisburn

Female Goatling

1st: Peter Woods, Lisburn

2nd: Maurice Murphy, |Dungannon


Best Fancy Rabbit: Robert Patterson,|Lisburn

Reserve Fancy Rabbit: Mr AJ Gordon, Ahoghill

Champion Rabbit: Mr AJ Gordon, Ahoghill

Reserve Champion Rabbit: Robert Patterson, Lisburn


Alaska, any age

1st: Mr AJ Gordon, Ahoghill

2nd: Mr AJ Gordon, Ahoghill

Hulstander, any colour, |any age

1st: Mr AJ Gordon, Ahoghill

2nd: Mr AJ Gordon, Ahoghill


Mini Rex – any colour, any age

1st: Mr AJ Gordon, Ahoghill

2nd: Mr AJ Gordon, Ahoghill

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph