Belfast Telegraph

Sunday 29 May 2016

Greenmount Agricultural College: Horticulture Awards

Published 19/06/2013

Level 2 Extended Certificate in Horticulture


Jamie Crooks, Lisburn

Charles Duffy, Carrickfergus

Frank Fleming, Ballymena

Michael Mallon, Belfast

Aidan McAllister, Belfast


Level 2 Diploma in Horticulture


Robin Barr, Hillsborough

Daniel Curran, Londonderry

Gavin Hickinson, Ballymoney

Adam Kelly, Londonderry

Alan Leahy, Downpatrick

James Magowan, Downpatrick

Daniel McComb, Ballynahinch

Gary McKinstry, Banbridge

Peter McMullan, Ballymena

Gemma Pearson, Antrim

Michael Porter, Armagh

Edward Sanlon, Belfast

Gary Winters, Carrickfergus


Level 2 Work-based Diploma in Horticulture (Parks, Gardens & Green Spaces)


Martin Bagchus, Larne

David Boyle, Belfast

Samuel Cairns, Londonderry

John Conlan, Carrickfergus

Liam Coyle, Londonderry

Kevin Denver, Belfast

Joseph Gorman, Belfast

Jim Hyndes, Belfast

Paul MacFarlane, Burnfoot, Co Donegal

Jamie Matthew, Lisburn

Tony McAllister, Newtownabbey

Paul McIntyre, Antrim

Owen McMahon, Belfast

Michael Patterson, Carrickfergus

Matthew Quinn, Newtownabbey

Colin Rhodes, Newtownabbey

Andrzej Siudek, Newtownabbey



Level 2 Work-based Diploma in Horticulture (Sports Turf)


Aaron Bell, Ballymoney

Andrew Black, Dromore, Co Down

Allyn Brett , Claremorris, Co Mayo

Carl Campbell, Belfast

JB Connolly, Monaghan, Co Monaghan

Neil Cordner, Craigavon

Allen Coulter, Antrim

John Craig, Holywood

Aidan Donnelly, Newry

Nigel Fiddes , Craigavon

Chris Findlay, Portstewart

Simon Flavelle, Craigavon

George Gamble, Newtownards

Keith Geraghty, Armagh

James Harbinson, Bangor

David Hoey, Bangor

Brian Hughes, Ballymena

Scott Irwin, Banbridge

Thomas Ison, Belfast

Raymond Jackson, Newtownards

William Jackson , Belfast

Monthon Kajonburee, Newtownards

Reece Killen, Omagh

Chris Mallon, Antrim

Colin Marshall, Lisburn

Ashley McAllister, Lisburn

Chris McArthur, Limavady

Glenn McCallan, Strabane

Gui McCullough, Bangor

Diarmaid McInerney, Ballyshannon, Co Donegal

Ben Moore, Balbriggan, Co Dublin

Raymond Moore, Londonderry

Christopher Mornin, Newtownards

Joe Quinn, Downpatrick

Philip Simpson, Belfast

Emmett Sweeney, Enniskillen



Level 2 Certificate in Floristry


Jessica Moran, Magherafelt



Level 2 Diploma in Floristry


Grace Campbell , Newry

Hannah Cousins, Newry

Jane Dully, Carrickfergus

Barbara Irwin, Antrim

Jenny McClintock, Newtownabbey

Amber McConkey, Antrim

Jemma Molloy, Ballycastle

Chloe Morrison, Ballymoney

Shannon Ormandy, Ballymena



Level 3 Diploma in Floristry


Janet Lyons, Ballynahinch

Rebekah McClean, Belfast

Penny McIntyre, Coleraine

Cherith Woods, Omagh



Level 3 Certificate in Horticulture


Paul Dempster, Belfast

Stephen Newell, Downpatrick


Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Horticulture 


Chris Browne, Strabane

Siobhan Charnock, Dromore

Mandy Ellis, Ballintra, Co Donegal

Paddy Grant, Omagh

Diane Greenwood, Ballyclare

Gillian O'Hagan, Banbridge

Patricia O'Neill, Antrim

Jodie Poots, Lisburn

Kenneth Surphlis, Enniskillen


Level 3 Diploma  in Horticulture



Christopher Gordon , Belfast

Rory Shannon, Hillsborough


Level 3 Extended Diploma in Horticulture


Adam Bleakley, Fivemiletown

Hannah Brown, Newry

Alistair Donald, Ballymena

Stuart Hanna, Dromore

Stephen Johnston, Carrickfergus

Ryan Killen, Moville, Co Donegal

Ian Rodgers, Ballyclare

Ryan Wallace, Belfast


Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Horticulture (Landscaping)


Rhett Bartlett, Belfast

Jonathan Bettes, Newtownards

Raymond Bresland, Strabane

James Patterson, Ballynahinch

William Williamson, Bangor



Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Horticulture (Sports Turf)


Steven Andrews, Newtownards

Aaron Bell, Ballymoney

Alastair Brown, Dungannon

James Cartmill, Bangor

Andrew Foster, Newtownards

Andrew Grey, Belfast

Jamie Osborne, Lisburn

Peter Roberts, Newtownards


Level 3 Advanced National Certificate in Horticulture (Sports Turf)


Steven Burns, Coleraine

Ian Cameron, Antrim

David Drummond, Ballyclare

Ryan Jordan, Bangor

Jamie McCune, Belfast

Karl McElhinney, Letterkenny, Co Donegal

David McGarrity, Antrim

Jonathan Moore, Belfast

Jason Spence, Buncrana, Co Donegal

John Spence, Buncrana, Co Donegal

Stuart Wratten, Bangor


Level 3 NVQ in Amenity Horticulture (Landscaping)


Noel Bonnar, Ballycastle

Colin Richardson, Belfast

Alan Wade, Ballymena


Level 3 Work-based Diploma in Horticulture (Parks, Gardens & Green Spaces)


Andrew Brown, Belfast

Richard Graham, Dromore, Co Down

John Kennedy, Belfast

Michael Loten, Newtownards

Richard McKitterick, Armagh

Suzanne Patman, Belfast

Thomas Simpson, Newtownards

Patrick Small, Downpatrick


Certificate of Higher Education in Horticulture


Pass with Commendation


David Kagerer,Munich,Germany

Harry McGuiggan, Bangor




Michael Boyd, Newtownabbey

Toby Drake, Craigavon

Paul McDowell, Ballymena


Foundation Degree in Horticulture


Pass with Distinction


Tamsen Barrett, Newtownards

Maria Doyle, Belfast

Paul Sampson, Belfast

Karen Shaw, Belfast

Thomas Weir, Newtownards




Pass with Commendation


Mark McDonald, Enniskillen

Colan McLaughlin, Newry

Gary Thompson, Bangor




Chris Arnott, Lisburn

Simon Cameron, Coleraine

Andrew Culbert, Bangor

Jonathan Hall, Enniskillen

Jason Hamilton, Belfast

Nathan Johnston, Armagh

Alexander Lyttle, Newtownards

Matthew McCarragher, Armagh

Caithríona McCrudden, Barnesmore, Co Donegal

Philip Peoples, Larne

Michael Witherspoon, Randalstown


Special Prizes in Floristry



Level 2 Diploma in Floristry


First overall


Jane Dully, Carrickfergus



Level 3 Diploma in Floristry


First overall


Penny McIntyre, Coleraine


The Victoria Rose bowl for progress in practical floristry


Chloe Morrison, Ballymoney


Special Prizes


Level 2 Diploma in Horticulture


First overall


Robin Barr, Hillsborough




Level 3 Subsidiary Diploma in Horticulture


First overall


Mandy Ellis, Ballintra, Co. Donegal



Level 3 Extended  Diploma in Horticulture


First overall



Hanna Brown, Newry



Prizes open to all Level 3 Horticulture Programmes


The Crosbie Cochrane Perpetual Award for best Plantsperson


Mandy Ellis, Ballintra, Co. Donegal




The Ronnie Cameron Perpetual Award presented by ALCI for landscape design project work


Gillian O’Hagan, Banbridge












Foundation Degree in Horticulture




First overall 


Ian Weir, Newtownards





The Alpine Garden Plant Society Prize for plantsmanship



Paul Sampson, Belfast




Institute of Horticulture Prize for the top part-time student



Karen Shaw, Belfast











From the web

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph