Belfast Telegraph

Mayor Johnson takes Commons oath

Boris Johnson has formally begun his second Commons career, swearing the oath as the new MP for Uxbridge and South Ruislip.

The London mayor, who will attend David Cameron's political cabinet but is not a minister, was one of the final MPs to complete the formalities ahead of tomorrow's Queen's Speech and State Opening of Parliament.

The Commons met for an hour today as MPs continued to return to Westminster.

Among the new MPs to take the oath were David Warburton, who won Somerton and Frome for the Tories, and Gavin Newlands, who seized Paisley and Renfrewshire North for the Scottish National Party.

Labour veteran Paul Flynn (Newport West) registered a protest against the monarchy in two languages - both English and Welsh - adding the words "as a republican by conviction and under protest" to his oath to the Queen.

Other MPs present today included Theresa Villiers, the Northern Ireland Secretary, Andrew Mitchell, the former international development secretary, and Michael Fabricant, the Tory MP for Lichfield.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph