Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Six seek to succeed Adams as MP

Six candidates are contesting the June 9 Belfast West Commons by-election to choose a successor to Sinn Fein's Gerry Adams, who is now a Member of the Irish Republic's Dail.

The list includes five who also stood in the constituency in this month's Northern Ireland Assembly election.

Seeking to defend Mr Adams's huge majority for Sinn Fein is Paul Maskey, while Alex Attwood is standing for the SDLP.

Both were elected in the Assembly poll.

Brian Kingston is standing again for Democratic Unionists, Bill Manwaring for Ulster Unionists and Gerry Carroll for the People Before Profit Alliance.

The one newcomer since the May 5 election is the Alliance Party's Aaron McIntyre.

General election 2010: SF maj 17,579 (54.71%) - Turnout 32,133 (53.99%) Adams (SF) 22,840 (71.08%); Attwood (SDLP) 5,261 (16.37%); Humphrey (DUP) 2,436 (7.58%); Manwaring (UCUNF) 1,000 (3.11%); Hendron (Alliance) 596 (1.85%).

Press Association

Read More


From Belfast Telegraph