Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Home News World

Confirm EU blacklist demands MP

A member of Russia's parliament has formally requested that foreign minister Sergey Lavrov confirm and explain the list of 89 European politicians who have been banned entry to Russia.

Russia has shared the list with European Union officials, but has refused to release it.

A leaked list published by the Finnish public broadcasting company Yle includes politicians from 17 EU countries, but no explanation for the bans.

The EU has criticised the Russian move as "totally arbitrary and unjustified, especially in the absence of any further clarification".

Dmitry Gudkov, the sole member of Russia's parliament who opposes the Kremlin, asked Lavrov today to confirm the names and to state why they were included.

The EU has imposed sanctions and some travel bans on Russia for its actions in Ukraine.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph