Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Home News World

Dijsselbloem remains eurogroup head

Dutchman Jeroen Dijsselbloem has been re-elected for a second term as president of the eurogroup, the eurozone finance ministers' group.

The Council of the European Union made the announcement in a tweet.

The Dutch finance minister, who has taken a tough line with Greece through months of drawn-out negotiations over the country's financial crisis, tweeted his thanks to his fellow ministers in the 19-nation group.

The eurogroup takes key policy decisions about the European single currency.

Mr Dijsselbloem's only challenger for the job was his Spanish counterpart Luis de Guindos, who had been publicly backed by European heavyweight Germany.

The term is two-and-a-half years long.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph