Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Home Opinion Letters

Fifa dropped the ball over black armbands

Published 28/11/2016

Belfast Telegraph letters to the Editor
Belfast Telegraph letters to the Editor

If the IFA broke Fifa Law 4.4 by wearing black armbands (News, November 24), then Fifa, via the match officials, should have invoked Law 4.5, which states: "Infringements and sanctions - For any infringement of this Law (4.4), play need not be stopped and the player is instructed by the referee to leave the field of play to correct the equipment..."

The IFA advised Fifa in advance that players intended to wear black armbands. As the match officials did not act, despite the advance notice, surely it is reasonable to assume the IFA did not break Law 4.4.

L MCCLEAN

Ballymoney, Co Antrim

Online Editors

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph