Carl Frampton stripped of WBA title just weeks after Scott Quigg fight
Carl Frampton has been stripped of his WBA super-bantamweight title after failing to fight Guillermo Rigondeaux, just weeks after his unifcation fight with Scott Quigg.
The Belfast-born boxer defeated Scott Quigg on 27 February to become the WBA and IBF Unified champion
Two days later, the WBA wrote to Frampton again advising him of his mandatory obligation to face Rigondeaux as his next opponent.
The WBA said: “The Resolution named Guillermo Rigondeaux as Champion in Recess and authorized WBA champion Scott Quigg to participate in a unification bout with IBF champion Carl Frampton via special permit conditioned on the winner facing Rigondeaux as the next opponent. The Resolution was provided to Frampton’s representatives the following day.”
However, it was reported that Frampton did not intend to face Rigondeaux in his next bout.
According to the WBA, they wrote to Frampton inquiring whether the press releases were accurate and requested he confirm his intentions on or before 18 March.
They said that as they hadn't received a response and Rigondeaux’s representatives were not approached by anyone on Frampton’s behalf to negotiate a bout, he would be stripped of his title.
“In light of Frampton’s announced intention to face an opponent other than his mandatory,” says WBA Championships Chairman Gilberto Jesus Mendoza, “and for failing to respond to WBA inquiries as to his intent, Frampton’s recognition as Champion is removed.”
“Rigondeux shall come out of recess and face Interim Champion Moises Flores as his mandatory defense on or before August 1, 2016. If Flores or Rigondeaux wish to face any other opponent, the WBA may consider an application for special permit consistent with the rules of the WBA.”
Belfast Telegraph Digital