Hughes disqualification hands crown to Tennyson
James Tennyson dethroned Celtic featherweight champion Kris Hughes on Saturday night when Hughes was disqualified in the seventh round.
Headlining Mark Dunlop's show at the Andersonstown Leisure Centre, Tennyson had too much for his southpaw opponent to handle. Closing the range with a lead right hand and trying to work the body, James found himself constantly tangled up inside.
All that Scotland's Hughes could do to cope with Tennyson's strength was grab and clinch which resulted in numerous warnings from referee Ian John-Lewis.
Hughes had two points deducted in the sixth round - the second for a blatant headbutt that cut Tennyson across the right eye - and a further point taken in the seventh. Later in that round the London official stepped in and disqualified Hughes at 2:31.
This bout doubled as a British title eliminator and James is now expected to push for his shot before moving up in weight.