Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Home Sport Cricket

Boyd Rankin and Tim Murtagh included in Ireland's World T20 squad

Boyd Rankin and Tim Murtagh will lead the attack for Ireland at next month's World Twenty20 after both were named in an experienced 15-man squad.

Paceman Rankin recently switched his allegiance back to Ireland after representing England since August 2012 and took six wickets in an ICC Intercontinental Cup win over Papua New Guinea last month.

Murtagh has reversed last May's decision to retire from the shortest format of the game at international level and will be back on the biggest stage after missing last year's World Cup with a foot injury.

William Porterfield will lead the side and he is one of five players playing in their fifth World Twenty20, alongside Kevin and Niall O'Brien, Paul Stirling and Gary Wilson.

"We are really looking forward to this World Cup, particularly with the return of Boyd Rankin," said Ireland chairman of selectors Alan Lewis. "He gives our attack so much more balance and potency.

"As such a consistent performer, I am also delighted to see Tim Murtagh in the squad for an event like this, particularly as he missed the 2015 World Cup is such disappointing circumstances.

"These are the events that players want to excel in so hopefully with the lead time involved and the energy the team always shows, we can emerge out on top of the group in the first phase."

Ireland will face Holland, Oman and Bangladesh in the group stage in India, with the winners advancing to the Super 10.

"Everyone has been given a real boost by the return of Boyd Rankin and Tim Murtagh's rethink on retirement in this format," said head coach John Bracewell.

"Porty (Porterfield) has plenty of options with the ball as so many of the squad are genuine all-rounders.

"It's another great chance for the squad to showcase Irish cricket to a global audience and the guys are determined to prove they belong at the top level of the sport."

Ireland squad for World Twenty20: William Porterfield (capt), Andrew Balbirnie, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Andrew Poynter, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph