Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

Joyce returns to Ireland squad

Ed Joyce has returned to the Ireland squad for the forthcoming World Cup.

The 32-year-old, who played for England in the 2007 competition, is one of 15 players named by coach Phil Simmons after the International Cricket Council allowed him to switch back to the country of his birth.

The side will be captained by Warwickshire's William Porterfield and includes nine players from the tournament four years ago.

"I like the balance of the squad," said Simmons.

"As with most Irish teams of the past few years, there are quite a few all-rounders, and that gives us plenty of options in all departments.

"This squad contains a lot of experience with nine having played in the 2007 competition - I am sure that is more than most teams.

"What is different this time from 2007 is that 13 of the 15 earn their living from cricket - that's practically a full-time squad. It makes such a difference having the guys full-time."

There is no place in the squad for Hamish Marshall, with the New Zealander being refused the special dispensation given to Joyce.

Ireland squad: William Porterfield (captain), Andre Botha, Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Trent Johnston, Nigel Jones, Ed Joyce, John Mooney, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien (wicketkeeper), Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Albert van der Merwe, Gary Wilson, Andrew White.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph