Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport Cricket

Marshall left out by Ireland

Ireland have overlooked former New Zealand batsman Hamish Marshall for next month's Tri-Series against Sri Lanka and Scotland due to financial issues surrounding his change of country.

Marshall, who has declared his desire to play for Ireland, is eligible after making the last of his 66 one-day international appearances for New Zealand more than four years ago.

Cricket Ireland are keen to include the 32-year-old but have decided to leave him out because his appearance would result in compensation being paid to his county Gloucestershire.

Marshall's 'free agent' status affords Gloucestershire payments from the ECB that would stop once he appears for Ireland.

"Although Hamish has declared for Ireland, he has at the same time become technically qualified for England," Cricket Ireland chief executive Warren Deutrom said.

"Irrespective of his international playing preference, his nominal England qualification releases significant payment to Gloucestershire from the ECB and playing for Ireland in the upcoming matches would jeopardise these payments, which would be unreasonable on Gloucestershire within a budgetary cycle.

"Since Cricket Ireland, for a similar budgetary reason, is unable to compensate Gloucestershire for their financial loss, Hamish's ability to play for Ireland in the short-term will remain under review. We shall remain in consultation with Hamish, Gloucestershire CCC and the ECB over the coming weeks to determine how best to resolve the matter."

Ed Joyce has been left out due to personal reasons while spinner Albert van der Merwe is still recovering from an elbow injury he suffered in training during last month's 2-0 series defeat to Pakistan in Belfast.

Van der Merwe's absence is offset by the return of young spinner George Dockrell while wicketkeeper-batsman Niall O'Brien will miss the second game against Scotland on July 12 to return to Northamptonshire.

Squad: William Porterfield (capt), Alex Cusack, George Dockrell, Trent Johnston, Nigel Jones, John Mooney, Graeme McCarter, Kevin O'Brien, Niall O'Brien, Andrew Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Paul Stirling, Andrew White, Gary Wilson.


From Belfast Telegraph