Belfast Telegraph

Thursday 30 October 2014

Fifa Ballon d'Or: Messi still the top man

Barcelona's Lionel Messi with his award for Player of the Year during the FIFA Ballon d'or Gala last night
Lionel Messi (l) of Argentina and Barcelona FC winner of the men's player of the year alongside Jose Mourinho (r) of Portugal and Real Madrid FC winner of coach of the yea award during the FIFA Ballon d'or Gala at the Zurich Kongresshaus on January 10, 2011 in Zurich, Switzerland.
Argentina's soccer player Lionel Messi, left, and Brazil's soccer player Marta hold their trophies after they were awarded with the FIFA Ballon d'Or, footballer of the year 2010, during a ceremony in Zurich, Switzerland, Monday, Jan. 10, 2011.

Lionel Messi last night became the inaugural winner of the Fifa Ballon d'Or at the glittering award ceremony in Zurich.

Argentina star Messi was selected ahead of Barcelona team-mates Xavi and Andres Iniesta, who both won the World Cup with Spain last summer.

Messi, 23, scored an astonishing 60 goals for club and country in 2010 and is regarded by many as the most gifted player of his generation.

He said: “To be honest, I didn't expect to win, but it was already great to be here next to my two mates.

“To win it makes it even more special. I want to share with all of my friends, my family, all the Barcelonistas and the Argentinians.”

The FIFA Ballon d'Or was created following the merger of France Football magazine's Footballer of the Year prize with the FIFA World Player of the Year gong.

As such, it is awarded based on votes cast by journalists from around the world, as well as coaches and captains of national teams.

Messi was the holder of both titles and therefore joins former Brazil striker Ronaldo, Ronaldinho and Zinedine Zidane as a multiple winner of the latter accolade.

Alfredo Di Stefano, Johan Cruyff, Franz Beckenbauer, Kevin Keegan Michel Platini, Marco van Basten, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Ronaldo are the only other men to win the Ballon d'Or more than once.

Messi also became the first player to be awarded the prize in a World Cup year without having won the tournament since 1994, when non-Europeans were ineligible.

Jose Mourinho was named Coach of the Year ahead of World Cup winning Spain boss Vicente del Bosque and Barcelona's Pep Guardiola for leading Inter Milan to an unprecedented Champions League, Serie A and Coppa Italia treble.

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Nightlife galleries


Latest Sport News

Stats Centre