Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Ref did me a favour in Cardiff, admits Ballack

Published 03/04/2009

Germany captain Michael Ballack knew his 30-yarder that set his nation on the way to victory over Wales should not have been allowed.

And the Chelsea man has revealed he was aware that Wales had been denied a throw-in before he unleashed his shot that set-up a 2-0 World Cup qualifying victory in Cardiff.

Wales are fuming over the injustice after a clear mistake from referee Terje Hauge — with striker Robert Earnshaw insisting the Norwegian official had "killed" his side.

Ballack said: "Yes, I was told it was a Wales throw in prior to my goal. But that is the way things go sometimes in this game. I did strike the ball well for the shot and I am very pleased with the goal. Wales played a very good game against us and made it tough.

"I think they did improve after the Finland game."

Belfast Telegraph

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph