Belfast Telegraph

Cliftonville make history with second Danske Bank Premiership title after beating Portadown

Cliftonville have made history by winning the Danske Bank Premiership title for the second season in-a-row after a 2-0 win over Portadown.

Chris Curran’s goal nine minutes into the second half got the party started for the Reds, who knew going into the game that victory would all but give them the title ahead of Linfield thanks to a vastly superior goal difference.

Substitute Stephen Garrett scored the second five minutes from time and with Linfield losing 2-0 in their Big Two battle with Glentoran at Windsor Park, the Gibson Cup will stay in north-Belfast.

Tommy Breslin’s team have a six point lead over the Blues  with just one more league game to go.

It is the first time in the club’s history that a Clitonville team has retained the league title and they have now emulated Portadown as only the second team other than Linfield to do so since the late 1960s.


For full match report see Wednesday's Belfast Telegraph

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph