Belfast Telegraph

I thought 'sod it' and ran on, says home boss Maye

By Keith Bailie

Donegal Celtic's 2-1 win over Larne was overshadowed by a bizarre penalty-kick incident. With DC 2-0 up thanks to a Darren Stuart brace, referee Ally Burns awarded the visitors a 74th minute spot kick, which Paul Maguire blasted against the post before converting the rebound.

The officials initially awarded a goal despite the fact no Celtic player had touched the ball in between Maguire's two touches – contravening Law 14 of the game – and furious home boss Nicky Maye sprinted onto the pitch in protest, eventually persuading the referee to disallow the strike.

After the game, Maye said: "People were telling me not to go onto the pitch but I just thought 'sod it' and ran on anyway. The referee was right in front of me and I felt that I had to make my point.

"I knew the rule, I knew it shouldn't have been goal so I just wanted the referee to discuss it with his linesman. Sure enough, when he did that he disallowed the goal."

In the only other Belfast Telegraph Championship One game, Dergview beat Armagh City 2-0 at Darragh Park with Darren Higginbotham and Richard Lecky finding the back of the net.

In Championship Two, Moyola Park climbed to the top of the table with a 2-1 win over Wakehurst at Mill Meadow on Friday night. In the battle of last season's relegated sides, Limavady United beat Coagh United 4-0 at The Showgrounds, while newly promoted Dollingstown recorded their first ever NIFL win by beating Tobermore United 4-3.

In the Toals Bookmakers Steel & Sons Cup, Dundela began the defence of their crown with a 3-0 win over Rosario and, in a thrilling match at New Grosvenor, Lisburn Distillery beat Castlestar of the Ballymena & Provincial Intermediate League 6-3, while 2012 winners Bangor started their campaign with a 2-0 win over Glebe Rangers at the Riada Stadium thanks to goals from Richard Gibson and Colin Nixon.

Belfast Telegraph Championship One: Dergview 2-0 Armagh City, Donegal Celtic 2-1 Larne

Belfast Telegraph Championship Two: Dollingstown 4-3 Tobermore United, Limavady United 4-0 Coagh United, Lurgan Celtic 2-3 Banbridge Town, Portstewart 1-4 Annagh United, Wakehurst 1-2 Moyola Park

Toals Bookmakers Steel & Sons Cup First Round: Ards Rangers 0-1 Ballymena United Reserves, 1st Bangor 4-0 Dunmurry Young Men, Bloomfield 5-3 Ardglass, Donard Hospital 0-4 Queen's University, Bryansburn Rangers 0-1 Sirocco Works, Dundela 3-0 Rosario Youth Club, Lisburn Rangers 5-4 Linfield Swifts, Downpatrick 5-0 Dundonald, Larne Tech. Old Boys 6-1 Crewe United, Lisburn Distillery 6-3 Castlestar, Crusaders Reserves 4-3 Dunloy, Barn United 5-1 Newington Rangers, Newcastle 0-6 Carrick Rangers, Killyleagh Youth Club 0-2 Ards, Portaferry Rovers 0-2 Crumlin United, Bangor Amateurs 1-0 Mossley Young Men, Rathfern Rangers 2-2 Rathcoole (Rathfern won 5-4 on pens), Glebe Rangers 0-2 Bangor, Immaculata 6-0 Groomsport, Chimney Corner 4-6 Drumaness Mills, PSNI 1-1 Ballyclare Comrades (PSNI won 4-2 on pens), Harland & Wolff Welders 4-0 Shankill United

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph