Belfast Telegraph

Ruthless Derry all but seal progress

Derry City 4-0 Aberystwyth

By Eoin Wilson

Derry City have all but booked their place in the second Europa League Qualifying round after they swatted aside the challenge of Aberystwyth at the Brandywell last night.

Peter Hutton's men travel to Wales next week with a huge advantage but based on the difference in class between both teams, the Candystripes should easily add to their tally in the second leg.

Derry were already a goal up through Patrick McEleney when Aberystwyth goalkeeper Michael Lewis was red carded for felling Rory Patterson in the area.

Patterson scored the resulting penalty and from that moment on, it was a training exercise, with Mark Timlin and Barry McNamee completing the rout.

The Welsh side settled into the game after a nervy start but they were clearly vulnerable defensively and 15 minutes in they were caught out. Michael Duffy sent McEleney scampering forward and the midfielder raced forward into the penalty area.

Wyn Thomas attempted to track McEleney but a simple dummy left the defender grounded, and McEleney shifted the ball onto his left foot before curling it past Lewis Michael into the net.

Disaster hit Aberystwyth on 25 minutes and again it was McEleney who caused the damage. The Shantallow man sent Patterson through on goal and the striker beat Lewis to the ball, before hitting the ground under the challenge from the goalkeeper.

The referee pointed to the penalty spot and produced the red card. Patterson doubled the lead, lashing the ball to the left.

The game was up for Aberystwyth just two minutes into the second half, Timlin registering his first goal for Derry City with a fine effort from 25 yards.

Derry put the gloss on a dominant performance just four minutes from time. Aaron Barry raced down the left and his low cross found McNamee, who took his time before placing into the net.

Derry City: Doherty, McBride, Byrne, Barry, Jarvis, Molloy, Timlin, McNamee, Duffy, Patterson, P McEleney. Subs: Gallagher, S McEleney, Ventre, Boyle, Tracey, Lowry, Curran.

Aberystwyth Town: Lewis, C Davies, S Jones, David Thomas, Cledan Davies, Corbisiero, Venables, Sherbon, Kellaway, M Jones, Williams. Subs: Draper, Atyeo, James, Morgan, R Davies, Butler.

Referee: Mads-Kristoffer Kristoffersen (Denmark).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph