Belfast Telegraph

Lisburn Distillery grab points as Glenn Ferguson piles the pain onto Coleraine

Coleraine 0 Lisburn Distillery 1: Lisburn Distillery striker Glenn Ferguson heaped more misery on bottom of the table Coleraine last night.

Ferguson snatched his first goal of the season to earn the Whites three points and consign Coleraine to a fifth successive defeat in the Carling Premiership.

Frustrated manager David Platt could only watch helplessly as his side blew a succession of chances in the first-half and then received a sucker punch from 41-year-old Ferguson in the 64th minute. It might have been worse in injury time, but keeper Davy O'Hare saved Gary Liggett's penalty.

Yet, in the opening 45 minutes, Coleraine piled up a catalogue of chances, but the cutting edge deserted them and they were left to count the cost.

Paul Brown drilled a shot wide inside a minute and Gareth Harkin went closest following a clever one-two with Carson, beating the advancing Philip Matthews, but his shot crashed off the crossbar.

Coleraine maintained the pressure as Kyle McVey saw another header deflected away and then twice in quick succession Harkin was out of luck as defenders threw themselves in front of his attempts on goal.

Carson then contrived to miss a sitter from six yards, Brown found Lowry on the right and he raced clear to send over a tantalising cross for the winger who lifted his shot over the bar.

Only the post denied Tommy Wright’s team early in the second-half when Liggett found space in the box, beat O’Hare, but was denied by the upright.

Ferguson then made the breakthrough, guiding the ball past O’Hare after Andy Hunter’s long throw had been knocked into him in the box.

O'Hare brilliantly denied Liggett from the spot after Aaron Canning was ruled to have brought him to ground just before the end.

Coleraine: O’Hare, Canning, Watt, McVey, Ogilby, Carson, Harkin, Hegarty, Lowry, Brown (Black, 71), Boyce. Subs not used: Beverland, Harkness, Tommons, Millar.

Lisburn Distillery: Matthews, Hunter, Muir, Kilmartin, Thompson, Patton (Cushley, 61), Simpson, Liggett, Trainor (Cooling, 73), Ferguson, Browne (Forsythe 84). Subs not used: Morton, Davidson.

Referee: David Dunlop (Antrim).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph