Belfast Telegraph

McClelland's heroics are enough for Roesiders to rule roost

Limavady Utd 1 - Ardstraw 0

By Clive Edgar

Limavady United won the Craig Memorial Cup for the second time in three seasons as they overcame junior side Ardstraw.

Whilst the Northern Ireland Intermediate side worked hard they didn't really cause the Roesiders too many problems.

In fact their young goalkeeper Andrew Gailay produced several top class saves in the second half to keep his side in the game.

Bryan McClelland was the hero for United as he notched the only goal of the game.

The Roesiders pressed for the opening goal early in the game with Andrew Ferris having two decent opportunities which he just couldn't get a vital touch on.

In the 32nd minute nippy winger Gareth Brown engineered space for a shot which Gailay did well to keep out.

Ardstraw's best chance in the game came in stoppage time when Sammy McKelvey was denied twice, once by keeper Matt McGraw and once by the post.

United came out more determined in the second half, going close seconds after the restart through Brown, with Ferris then being denied again by Gailay.

Brown in particular was getting a lot of joy down the left flank but again was denied in the 59th minute by that man Gailey.

The game's only goal came in the 66th minute. McClelland strode purposefully from defence past an almost static Ardstraw team with his wellstruck effort taking a deflection which left Gailay wrong-footed to send the United fans into raptures.

Two minutes later they went close again, this time Cathair Friel struck a post.

United continued to look more likely to add a second, with Ferris bursting past three defenders only for Gailay to deny him again.

In the 89th minute the Ardstraw keeper pulled off a wonderful save as he clawed away a Friel effort .

They should really have added a second in added time with Ferris but in the end it didn't matter .

Ardstraw: Gailay, N.Boyd, Mitchell (Williamson, 85 mins), Mills (Fusco, 68 mins), Warnock, Boyle (Fair, 52 mins), D.Boyd, Campbell, Matthews, McKelvey, Lowry. Subs: Hill, Long.

Limavady United: McGraw, O'Kane, McClelland, O'Hara, Carlin (Mullan, 32 mins), McFadden (McMullan, 85 mins), Harkin, Logue (Heaney, 77mins), Ferris, Friel, Brown. Subs: McCallion, Morrison.

Referee: Declan Hassan (Limavady).

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph