Belfast Telegraph

Patterson brings goal tally to double figures as Derry edge out Bohs

Bohemians 0-1 Derry City

By Eoin Wilson

Rory Patterson's tenth goal of the season was enough to secure Derry City a huge victory over Bohemians at Dalymount Park last night.

The striker struck in the first 10 minutes to give the Candy Stripes a significant victory as they closed the gap on Cork City in second place to just three points.

Since losing 5-0 to Dundalk, Kenny Shiels' team have now won two in a row without conceding a goal, and while last week's victory over Longford Town was about style, this was about hard graft as City dug deep to take all three points.

Derry City got off to the perfect start by breaking the deadlock just 10 minutes in. The Bohemians defence was opened up by crisp, sharp passing from City, with Aaron McEneff playing Conor McCormack into space in the Bohs penalty area, and the midfielder pulled the ball back to Rory Patterson, whose shot looped over Shane Supple and into the net.

Bohemians tried to offer up a response but the best they could offer in the first period was an effort from distance by Eoin Wearen which forced Gerard Doherty to push over the crossbar.

The hosts came out determined in the second half and had the ball in the Derry net within 10 minutes but Jake Kelly was ruled offside.

Bohs very nearly grabbed the equaliser midway through the second half courtesy of a misjudged header from Niclas Vemmelund, who sold goalkeeper Doherty short, and Mark Quigley pounced on the loose ball and tried to lob his former team mate, but Doherty read his intentions and saved well.

Bohemians began to commit more men forward as time turned against them and this provided the visitors with more opportunity to counter attack, and they very nearly sealed the points just over ten minutes from time when Barry McNamee's cross was met by Conor McCormack on the volley, but the ball flew wide of the target. .

Bohemians: Shane Supple, Derek Pender, Roberto Lopes, Dan Byrne, Eoin Wearen, Jake Kelly, Paddy Kavanagh, Dave Mulcahy, Ayman Ben Mohamed, Ian Morris, Ismahil Akinade.

Derry City: Gerard Doherty, Niclas Vemmelund, Aaron Barry, Dean Jarvis, Aaron McEneff, Conor McCormack, Barry McNamee, Rory Patterson (Jordan Allen 89'), Josh Daniels, Conor McDermott, Lukas Schubert (Ronan Curtis 80').

Referee: Neil Doyle.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph