Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Ballymena's extra long wait for victory is finally over

BY Stuart McKinley

Ballymena United secured a first win of the season as they staved off the threat of a cup shock against Moyola Park.

They went 1-0 down when Chris Dowie followed up when his own penalty was saved to bundle the ball past Dwayne Nelson.

David Cushley's goal took the match to extra time and a brace from Matthew Shelvin, either side of a goal from Eoin Kane - all coming in the space of four minutes - gave Glenn Ferguson's side a comfortable 4-1 win.

Portadown also needed extra time to see off Larne. Michael Gault, Marcio Soares and Darren Murray scored in the added time after Larne's Guillaume Keke had earlier cancelled out Murray's opener.

Carrick Rangers goalkeeper Brian Neeson was the penalty shoot-out hero for his team in their win over Lurgan Celtic.

A 1-1 draw after extra time was followed by a dramatic shoot-out which went to sudden death. Neeson scored his team's sixth penalty and then saved to give Carrick a 5-4 win.

Crusaders survived a scare against previously unbeaten Knockbreda. Gavin Whyte opened the scoring with a beautifully struck volley from 30 yards shortly before half time. Dylan Wilson levelled for Knockbreda, who then began to get on top, but late goals from Matthew Snoddy and Whyte secured victory for the Crues.

Ballinamallard United were comfortable 5-0 winners against Banbridge Town. Michael McCrudden scored twice, with Stephen Feeney, Leon Carters and Johnny Lafferty also on the scoresheet.

James McLaughlin netted twice, with Rodney Brown also on target in Coleraine's 3-1 win over Ballyclare Comrades.

Institute also hit five as they hammered Sport and Leisure Swifts 5-2.

H&W Welders were 3-0 winners at Dollingstown, while Limavady United beat last season's semi-finalists Bangor 2-1. Ards came from behind to beat Dergview 2-1.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph