Belfast Telegraph

Derry City 0 - 0 Limerick: Struggling Derry fire blanks yet again

By Eoin Wilson

Derry City's dire run of form continued last night as they failed to beat the league's whipping boys Limerick at the Brandywell.

While the final scoreline sums up everything wrong with the Candystripes this season, the game really should have been over by the break, as Derry somehow failed to convert numerous chances.

Stephen Dooley in particular was guilty of two horrendous misses, and had he taken any of those, the game would surely have ended in Derry's favour.

It is now 11 games without a win for Derry and the future of manager Peter Hutton now hangs in the balance.

Derry needed an early goal to settle any nerves and they started positively, forcing successive corners before Patrick McEleney whipped a curling shot just over Fred Daly's crossbar. The midfielder came even closer when he beat Aidan Price to go clear through on goal but at the crucial moment his touch was too heavy, allowing Daly to come out and smother the ball.

The best chance of the game came on the half hour when Mark Timlin was sent clear down the left and he crossed low into the six yard box where Dooley arrived looking certain to score a simple tap in, but he somehow miscued and an incredible chance was gone.

McEleney then had the ball in the net as he lobbed Daly, but the offside flag denied Derry. Dooley missed another incredible chance, somehow blazing over from close range after McEleney had again left the Limerick defence chasing shadows.

Derry had more opportunities after the break, the last one coming in added time when Ronan Curtis crossed behind the Limerick defence. The cross took out goalkeeper Hall and it looked as if Cillian Morrison would head into an empty net, but he slipped at the crucial moment and the chance was gone for Derry.

Derry City: Gerard Doherty, Rob Cornwall, Shane McEleney, Ryan McBride, Dean Jarvis, Philip Lowry, Barry McNamee, Mark Timlin, Stephen Dooley (Ronan Curtis 77'), Patrick McEleney (Mark Quigley 80'), Ryan Curran (Cillian Morrison 86').

Limerick: Fred Hall, Robbie Williams, Aidan Price, Paul O'Connor, Ian Turner, Shane Duggan, Dean Clarke, Shane Tracey, Sean Russell, Ross Mann (Prince Agyemang 45') Jason Hughes (Lee Lynch 71').

Referee: Paul Tuite

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph