Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Derry weather a Sligo storm after Timlin dismissal

By Eoin Wilson

Derry City and Sligo Rovers had to make do with a point apiece at the end of an entertaining north nest derby at the Brandywell.

However, Sligo will be disappointed that they did not leave with all three points, with Alan Keane missing an 81st minute penalty against a Derry side that had to play the majority of the second half with ten men, following the dismissal of Mark Timlin.

Sligo were the more threatening team throughout the game as the Candystripes again failed to make a significant impact in the final third.

Sligo winger Steven Beattie was getting the better of Dean Jarvis throughout the half and on 33 minutes his excellent wing work almost paid dividends as his low centre found Dinny Corcoran, who drove a low shot at goal, only for the ball to crash off the base of the post and away, with Shaun Patton beaten.

Beattie was involved again on 41 minutes as Sligo created a clear chance on the Derry goal, Beattie and Keane were involved before Sander Puri tuned smartly into space on the edge of the area and sent a shot high which was brilliantly batted away by Patton.

Sligo got the goal their play deserved six minutes after the restart when Puri broke through on goal and he had the presence of mind to take the ball around the outrushing Patton before slotting the ball into the empty net.

But before the players in red and white had time to feel sorry for themselves, Derry equalised.

The goal came out of nowhere as Seanan Clucas collected a loose ball just inside the penalty area and as the ball bounced up, he lofted it over keeper Richard Brush, more in hope than expectation, and the ball dropped over the stopper and into the net to make it 1-1.

Just as Derry were building that momentum, they suffered another blow on 67 minutes, when Timlin was shown a straight red for a foul on Kevin Devaney.

Sligo then should have won the game when Shane McEleney barged into the back of Dinny Corcoran, but Keane smashed his penalty off the crossbar.

Derry City: Patton, Kelly, Jarvis, Clucas, S McEleney, McNamee, Lowry (Houston 86), Morrison (Curran 74), Timlin, Sharkey (P McEleney 45), Barry.

Sligo rovers: Brush, Keane, Ledwith, Peers, Folan, Devaney (Nielsen 67), Corcoran, Wearen, Puri, Beattie, McManus.

Referee: Arnold Hunter.


derry city1

sligo rovers1

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph