Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Home joy at long last for a happy Limavady

By Clive Edgar

It wasn't a classic Boxing Day encounter, but Limavady United secured their first home league win of the season.

Limavady Utd 2

Larne 1

Martin Cutmore put the hosts ahead from the penalty spot in the first half.

Stephen McCain equalised early in the second half only for Eamon Doherty to grab all three points for the Roesiders.

Limavady United manager John Cunningham was pleased to have secured his first home league win of the season.

"It was always going to be a battle in this game for us especially since we had so many players missing," he said.

"We knew with Larne losing 5-1 against Distillery their backs were always going to be up for this game.

"We could have had three penalties in the game but over the course of a game I suppose it evens itself out so I don't think there could be any complaints about the referee.

"In all fairness I think our second goal was always going to come and when it did I had no doubts we would win the match."

"The luck seems to be running against us and it always seems to go that way when you are at the bottom of the table," said Larne boss Paul Curran.

"I believe you make your own luck and It's up to yourself to turn things around.

"Their second goal was definitely a foul on the keeper and I was very surprised when the referee didn't blow for a foul."

The home side took the lead in the 35th minute when goalkeeper Chris Keenan brought down Stephen Lowry in the box and Martin Cutmore made no mistake from the spot sending the keeper the wrong way.

Larne equalised 10 minutes into the second half with Stephen McCain's looping header ended up in the back of the net from a Darren Munster corner.

The winner came with 13 minutes remaining when the ball broke to Eamon Doherty and he made no mistake rolling the ball home from five yards.

LIMAVADY UNITED: Doherty, Harkan, Cutmore, Smith, Ferry, Shields, Semple, Hegarty, Clyde, E Doherty, F Lowry. Subs: T Lowry, McGarvay, Tomins.

LARNE: Keenan, Cleary, Minster, Montgomery, Hamilton, Wharry, Fulton, Ward, Rafferty, McCain, Grzegorszyk. Subs: Crossley, Robinson, Gollogley.

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph