Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Institute are a six-hit at Lisburn Distillery

Lisburn Distillery 1 Institute 2

Institute picked the right time to pull off a rare victory against Lisburn Distillery and with Cliftonville losing, their players and manager John Gregg rightly celebrated at the final whistle as they consolidated that vital sixth place spot.

Goals from Austin Friel and Sean Roddy did the damage in a game that was far from a classic.

Striker Friel got Institute off to the best possible start when he netted with just two minutes and four seconds on the clock.

Friel latched on to a poor back-pass and went round Phil Matthews to slot home.

The home side almost pressed the self-destruct button seven minutes later, Johnny Magee’s backheader fortunately coming off a fellow defender otherwise Friel would have been in again.

Institute were content to soak up what extremely limited pressure the home side could apply although keeper Alan Ryan did spill a through ball from Andy Kilmartin on 15 minutes.

Stute looked dangerous on the break, Ryan Semple sending a long range effort wide of Matthews post on 24 minutes but the Whites eventually settled and looked more threatening around the half hour mark.

A super diagonal cross-field ball put Andy Kilmartin clear but he fired wide of the target, Curtis Allen almost latched on to a near post cross from mark Cooling before Gary Browne shot straight at Alan Ryan in the visitor’s goal.

The Whites equalised on 66 minutes when Stuart Thompson went forward his shot fell nicely for Allen who finished off from close range.

But any hopes that Paul Kirk’s men had off winning this game were dashed just seven minutes later when right back Roddy stepped up to crack home a 30 yard free-kick over the wall and past Matthews.

LISBURN DISTILLERY: Matthews, Hall (Kingsberry 83), Thompson, Buchanan, Magee, Muir, Kilmartin, B.Browne (Gawley 63), Cooling, G. Browne, Allen. Not used: Shaw, Hamilton, Corey

INSTITUTE: Ryan, Roddy, Seydak, McLaughlin, McClean, Ogilby, Semple, Boyle, Friel (Mooney 71), Brown, Divin. Not used: Harkin, Crowne, Deery, Faulkner

Referee: Paddy McLaughlin (Londonderry)

Belfast Telegraph


From Belfast Telegraph