Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Irish Premier League transfers

Published 07/08/2009

Who has left and joined the top division over the summer

Ballymena United

Ins: Andy Smith (Portadown), Philip Carson (Glentoran), Darren Lockhart (Bangor), Mark Surgenor (Ballymoney Utd), Gavin Taggart (Newington YC), Noel Anderson (Bangor), Ormo Okunaiya (Larne).

Outs: Alan Blayney (Linfield), Gavin Melaugh (Lisburn Distillery), Stuart King (Glenavon), Michael Ward (Dungannon Swifts), Neil Teggart (Portadown), Thomas Wray (Institute), Gavin McDonnell (Newry City), Davitt Walsh (released).


Ins: None

Outs: Stephen O'Neill (Donegal Celtic), Barry Johnston (Shamrock Rovers - loan), Vincent Sweeney (Limavady United), Shea Campbell (Glenavon), Rory Hamill (Lisburn Distillery).


Ins: Rory Patterson (Droylsden), Marc Mukendi (Finn Harps), Michael Hegarty (Dungannon Swifts), Aaron Canning (Limavady United).

Outs: Trevor Hutchinson, Ryan McLaughlin, Davy Patton (all Limavady Utd), Marty Hunter (Abbey Villa), Adam McCart (Glebe Rangers), Stephen Lamont (Moyola Park), Alan Ewart (released).


Ins: Johnny Magee, Ryan McCann (both Lisburn Distillery), Dominic Melly (Bangor), David McMaster (Abbey Villa).

Outs: Gary Smyth (Dundela), Steven Coulter (Loughgall), Sean Hargan (released).

Dungannon Swifts

Ins: Michael Ward (Ballymena Utd), Andy Ferguson (Glentoran), Kyle McCleery (Ards), Andy Hamilton (Coagh).

Outs: Aaron Callaghan (Lisburn Distillery), Ryan McCreadie (released), Michael Hegarty (Coleraine).


Ins: Stuart King (Ballymena Utd), Andrew Plummer (Bangor), Shea Campbell (Cliftonville), Matthew Hazley (Airdrie).

Outs: Niall Hudson, Robert Robinson (both released).


Ins: Richard Clarke (Newry City).

Outs: Philip Carson (Ballymena Utd), Philip Simpson (Lisburn Distillery), BJ McMenamin (Larne), Jamie Marsh (Larne - loan), Peter Steele (released) Andy Ferguson (Dungannon Swifts).


Ins: Thomas Wray (Ballymena Utd), Gavin Cullen (Finn Harps).

Outs: Philip Lowry (Linfield), John O'Loughlin (Limavady Utd).


Ins: Alan Blayney (Ballymena Utd), Philip Lowry (Institute), Curtis Allen (Lisburn Distillery).

Outs: Glenn Ferguson (Lisburn Distillery), Paul McAreavey (Dundalk), Gary Thompson (Lisburn Distillery), Thomas Lambe (Donegal Celtic), Robbie White, Ryan McLoughlin, Alan Reid, Adam Dick, Brian Neeson (all Larne), Michael McClellan (Preston North End), Kirk Millar (Oldham Athletic), Daniel Devine (Preston North End), Matthew Doherty, John Martin (both released), Oran Kearney (retired).

Lisburn Distillery

Ins: Glenn Ferguson, Gary Thompson (Linfield), Philip Simpson (Glentoran), Dave Rogers (Dundalk), Aaron Callaghan (Dungannon Swifts), Gavin Melaugh (Ballymena Utd), Gavin Whelan (Drogheda Utd), Paul Murphy (Newry City - loan), Rory Hamill (Cliftonville).

Outs: Curtis Allen (Linfield), Ryan McCann, Johnny Magee (both Crusaders).

Newry City

Ins: Gavin McDonnell (Ballymena United), Lukasz Adamcyk (Loughgall), Davy Munster (Donegal Celtic).

Outs: Richard Clarke (Glentoran), Tony Anderson (released), Paul Murphy (Lisburn Distillery - loan), Ian Curran (Released), Paul Donegan (Released).


Ins: Neil Teggart (Ballymena Utd), Darren Kelly (York City).

Outs: Andy Smith (Ballymena Utd).

Belfast Telegraph

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph