Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Northern Ireland heroes of 86 are celebrated at Belfast City Hall

By Stuart McKinley

Published 10/05/2016

Well suited: Arder Carson with some of the 1986 Northern Ireland squad
Well suited: Arder Carson with some of the 1986 Northern Ireland squad

Belfast Lord Mayor Arder Carson welcomed the legends of 1986 on a night of celebration for Northern Ireland football.

Thirty years after their appearance at the World Cup finals in Mexico, they came together at the Northern Ireland Football League Awards to remember the past and look to the future, with Michael O'Neill set to take the present day team to Euro 2016 in France.

O'Neill went home with an award too, being named as International Personality of the Year, while Premiership champions Crusaders claimed the big individual awards, with Billy Joe Burns winning the Player of the Year prize and boss Stephen Baxter picking up Manager of the Year. One 1986 hero, Mal Donaghy, entered the Hall of Fame.

Belfast Telegraph

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More


From Belfast Telegraph