Belfast Telegraph

Ballymena & Provincial League round-up, November 9

There was a closing up between the teams in the league table after Saturday’s games in the Intermediate League.

Rathcoole FC hosted Brantwood at the Diamond, with Brantwood going in 3-1 in front at half time thanks to goals scored by Ryan McAuley and Jordan Kernoghan (2) with Jonny Lockhart scoring for Rathcoole. Paul Waite then scored twice in the second half to ensure Rathcoole a point.

Ballynure Old Boys beat Desertmartin 3-2, with Ballynure winning thanks to goals scored by Barry Penney, Simon Gibson and Mark Leckey with Robin Patton and Conor Stewart on the mark for Desertmartin.

FC Ballynure took a second half lead against Dunloy after Brian Miskimmin scored, then goals from Benny McGarry and Chris Smylie won the game for Dunloy.

Newtowne got a shock against Magherafelt Sky Blues, going behind to a Ciaran Monaghan goal in the 10th minute then had to rely on a Billy Doran goal.

Desertmartin Swifts, with goals scored by Clarke Lennox (2) and Ryan Brown (2), had a 4-0 win over Woodlands.

Castle Star, with a Warren Brown hat-trick and goals each from Darryl Duff and Andy Hall, beat Tobermore United Reserves 5-0.

Killymoon Rangers Reserves scored two against Chimney Corner Reserves, but conceded six scored by Michael McGroggan (3), Jak Todd (2) and Nicky Ryles.

Magherafelt Sky Blue Reserves, with goals scored by Tomas Beattie (4), Anton McElhone (2) and Aaron Hall, beat Cookstown Olympic 7-3.

In the Ballyclare derby game in the Junior Two Divison, it was Ballyclare North End who won against Ballynure Old Boys ‘B’ by 6-0, with Ryan Davey (4), Aaron Gilmore and Chris Johnston scoring the goals.

Sport & Leisure Swifts Reserves, with goals from Ryan Park, Adam Jones and Rob McCabe (2), had a good 4-2 away win over Remo, which takes the Sports to the top of the league table.

FC Larne, with goals scored by Philip Mawhinney, Simon Bell and Ryan Cash, beat FC Ballynure Reserves 3-0.

Moyola Park Olympic and FC Whiteabbey shared the points after a 2-2 draw with Jonny Montgomery and Gerard Southam scoring in the first half for Whiteabbey.

Brantwood Reserves keep in touch at the top of the Junior Three table after beating Clough Rangers Athletic 6-1 with goals scored by Jordan Rainey (3), Ciaran McEneaney, Dan Rodgers and Sam Morgan.

Wakehurst Strollers were back to winning ways at Red Star, but had to come from an own-goal deficit to win with goals scored by Sammy Millar (2) and Jamie Spears.

In the Carrickfergus derby game, Carrick Swifts scored three goals from Dave Johnston, Lee Rossi and Barry Rice but they had to share the points with 1st Carrickfergus Old Boys who also scored three goals.

In the Junior Four, Ballysillan Swifts Reserves, with goals scored by Ricky Dunn (3), Jordan McDonald and Taylor Dalton, beat Carnlough Swifts 5-2.

Krag Albion, with a hat-trick from Jonny Robb, beat Mallusk Athletic Reserves 3-1, while 3rd Ballyclare Old Boys and AFC Carrick Reserves shared the points after a 2-2 draw with Dave Johnston scoring both of the AFC goals.

In the Irish Cup Third Round, Carniny Amateurs were unlucky to go out of the competition in extra time, having been in front until the 90th minute of normal time. Carniny were leading 3-2 after 75 minutes with goals scored by Jonny Cummings, Michael O’Mullan and Jordan Armstrong before Ardglass forced an equaliser in the dying seconds of normal time to take the game into extra time, where they scored a goal in each period to go through.

Carnmoney FC had Antrim Rovers as visitors in the Crawford Cup First Round and went on to draw 4-4 in normal time with Alan Jones, Darren Brammeld, Matt Montgomery and Anton Watson scoring for the Rovers. Two goals scored by Jamie Stewart and Tom Bownes then won the game in extra time for the Rovers.

In the Canada Trophy First Round, AFC Carrick led Carniny Amateurs II 5-0 at half time with goals scored by Lee Crockett (2), Michael Deignan, Dessie White and Kenny Grealey. Carniny came back with two goals scored by Aleixandre Chimbulev and Dawid Lallowski before David Hildrew scored a sixth for AFC.

In the Canada Trophy Second Round, Ballyclare Comrades Reserves met Ballysillan Swifts, and with goals scored by Conor Mulholland, Aaron Lindsay and Jamie McTaggart, progressed to the next round.

Cookstown RBL had Monkstown FC as visitors and won with goals scored by Andy Kelso (3), Dean Campbell (2) and Ricky McMenemy (2) without reply.

Belfast Telegraph Digital


From Belfast Telegraph