Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Chelsea's Diego Costa won't face FA sanctions after Martin Skrtel clash

Chelsea's Diego Costa will not face retrospective disciplinary action from the Football Association over an incident against Liverpool where he clashed with defender Martin Skrtel.

The striker appeared to kick out at Skrtel after the pair tangled and both fell on the ground during the match at Stamford Bridge, which Liverpool won 3-1.

However referee Mark Clattenburg was right at the scene of the incident and immediately intervened.

Under FA rules, if the incident has been clearly seen by the referee then retrospective action cannot be taken. It is also understood to be questionable as to whether the incident would have been seen as a red card offence even if Clattenburg had not seen it take place.

The decision will come as a relief to Costa who has already served a three-game ban this season after the FA took retrospective action against the 27-year-old following clashes with Arsenal's Laurent Koscielny and Gabriel Paulista.

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?


From Belfast Telegraph