Belfast Telegraph

Wednesday 17 September 2014

Ex-ref: Bent goal should not have stood

Referee Mike Jones appeared to make an error by allowing Darren Bent's goal for Sunderland against Liverpool to stand.

Bent's strike deflected off a beach ball which had been thrown on the pitch by a Liverpool supporter, and it proved to be the winning goal at the Stadium of Light.

FIFA's Laws of the Game indicate the goal should have been disallowed.

In a section titled 'Interpretation of the Laws of the Game and guidelines for Referees', under the title 'Powers and duties', it is stated that "the referee stops, suspends or abandons the match because of outside interference of any kind".

Given the beach ball should not have been on the field of play and was only there because it was thrown by a spectator, Jones could have disallowed the goal on those grounds.

Former Premier League referee Jeff Winter has also expressed his disbelief that the goal was given,

"I'm absolutely amazed. It is a basic law in football and the goal should just not have stood.

"I am absolutely amazed that a referee at that level of football, between him, his assistant and the fourth official didn't see what had happened and give the correct decision."

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting? customercare@belfasttelegraph.co.uk

Nightlife galleries

More

Latest Sport News

Stats Centre