Belfast Telegraph

Thursday 18 September 2014

Lampard linesman speaks over disallowed goal error

The linesman at the centre of England's disallowed goal storm has admitted he was caught out by the speed of Frank Lampard's shot.

Uruguayan official Mauricio Espinosa failed to spot Lampard's effort had bounced over the line after crashing down off the underside of the bar during England's 4-1 last-16 defeat to Germany in Bloemfontein.



Had the goal been given, England would have drawn level at 2-2.



Fabio Capello is convinced his side could have then gone on to win the game.



It turned out to be the last game Espinosa was involved in as FIFA did not include him on their retained list for the last eight and beyond.



He told El Pais: "It was a very fast shot that I did not see properly, even though I was located in the right place.



"We didn't see a replay in the dressing room at half-time but you could sense what had happened.



"It was only when we saw the TV that we realised what happened.



"I feel quite sad about it because we had prepared for such a long time for the World Cup.



"It could have happened to anyone, unfortunately it was us. You just have to accept it. Life goes on."

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting? customercare@belfasttelegraph.co.uk

Nightlife galleries

More

Latest Sport News

Stats Centre