Belfast Telegraph

Friday 28 August 2015

Aghagallon 0-06 Warrenpoint 0-10

By John Campbell

Published 19/11/2012

A stirring last quarter performance that yielded a five-point haul proved Warrenpoint’s passport into the Ulster final at the expense of a plucky Aghagallon (Antrim) side at the Athletic Grounds, Armagh.

But manager Conor Tinnelly is adamant that a repetition of yesterday’s display will not be sufficient to bring provincial glory.

“We produced a strong finish but Aghagallon matched us for long spells and we would need to have shown much more conviction,” he said.

“We will have to show a step up on this form if we are to have any chance of getting our hands on the Ulster trophy.”

Superior stamina, a fresh level of cohesion and the ability to take scores from distance underlined Warrenpoint’s authority.

Yet it was very much neck and neck up until half-time with Aghagallon looking sharp.

Niall Lavery fired them into the lead before Conor Clarke and Ross McGarry whipped over scores that put the Down standard-bearers ahead.

Aghagallon carried a greater degree of penetration prior to half-time and points from Magee and McGarry helped ease them into a 0-4 to 0-3 interval lead.

But after the sides had been deadlocked at 0-5 each, Warrenpoint assumed control when Jamie Grant, Ryan Boyle and Ruairi Cowan (2) projected them into an unassailable 0-10 to 0-5 lead.

Warrenpoint’s penchant for cutting through the heart of the Aghagallon defence almost at will in the last quarter cemented their hold on the game.

Warrenpoint: T Franklin; A Grimes, N McCartan, C Cole; R Boyle (0-1), C McCartan, J Murchan; R Mallon, P Traynor; G Smith, R Cowan (0-2), C Clarke (0-1); R McAleenan, R McGarry (0-4, 0-1 free), G Morgan. Subs: C McLoughlin (0-1) for Clarke (20 mins), J Grant (0-1) for Smith (37), S Curran for Traynor (41), D O’Connor for C McCartan (53 mins).

Aghagallon: G O’Neill; M McStravick, C Loughran, S Branagan; M McKenna, N Lavery (0-2), G Magee (0-2); D McAlernon, O Lenehan; D O’Hagan (0-1), D McAlernon, F Bustard; R Loughran (0-1), D Marshall, C Lavery. Subs: L McCrory for O’Hagan (49 mins), N McStravick for N Lavery (58).

Referee: Eamonn McHugh (Tyrone).

From the web

Sponsored Videos

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph