Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Armagh, Fermanagh and Crossmaglen left facing fines in the wake of bust-ups

By Declan Bogue

Three Ulster teams are considering their options after being handed a number of proposed fines for various fracas by the Central Competitions Control Committee.

Following a bust-up in the tunnel at half-time of last Saturday's National League fixture, both Armagh and Fermanagh have been slapped with €5,000 fines.

There are protocols on which team is allowed to enter the tunnel first at half-time, and it is understood Fermanagh were the designated team to make their way to the dressing rooms. However, once a couple of Erne county players made their way down the tunnel, they were followed by Armagh players and management and a physical confrontation followed.

Fermanagh will have to plan for Laois without Sean Quigley, who was handed a one-game suspension, for an offence during play.

Crossmaglen Rangers are expected to appeal a fine for €1,000 arising out of incidents during their All-Ireland club semi-final loss to Connacht champions, Castlebar Mitchells.

They have confirmed to the Belfast Telegraph that they intend to seek a hearing with the Central Hearings Committee. Their opponents were handed an even stiffer fine of €1,500.

The Ulster champions ratified Gareth O'Neill as their new manager at a club meeting on Tuesday night.

O'Neill was previously joint-manager with Tony McEntee when they won two consecutive All-Ireland club titles earlier this decade, while brother-in-law, Oisín McConville, has been added to O'Neill's backroom ticket and he takes up a coaching role.

TYRONE (v Derry, NFL Div 2): N Morgan; A McCrory, R McNamee, C McCarron; B Tierney, R Brennan, T McCann; C Cavanagh, M Donnelly; K McGeary, P Harte, R Donnelly; C McAliskey, S Cavanagh, R O'Neill

DERRY (v Tyrone, NFL Div 2): E McNicholl; O Duffy, C McKaigue, K McKaigue; G McKinless, B Rogers, M Craig; N Holly, E Bradley; D Heavron, C McFaul, SL McGoldrick; R Bell, E McGuckin, J Kielt

DERRY (v Carlow, NHL Div 2A): D McDermott; D McCloskey, S McCullagh, E McGuckin; C McSorley, P Kelly, M McGrath; O McCloskey, T McCloskey; J O'Dwyer, M McGuigan, G O'Kane; S Farren, R Convery, P Cleary

Belfast Telegraph

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph