Belfast Telegraph

Monday 30 May 2016

Home Sport GAA

Derry 1-14 UUJ 0-06

By Declan Bogue

Published 14/01/2013

Brian McIver secured his first win as Derry boss with an emphatic 11 point victory over Ballinderry club mate Adrian McGuckin and his understrength Jordanstown outfit.

Making 10 changes to the starting line-up which lost out to Tyrone in the opening McKenna Cup fixture, McIver granted a total of seven new debuts on Saturday evening in a frosty Celtic Park.

And it was Ciaran McFaul who took fullest advantage.

The Glen Maghera man played a starring role at centre half forward and hit the decisive score at the end of the first half when he burst through and fired home to put his side six up at the break.

Derry were in cruise control in the second period with Coilin Devlin looking sharp at corner forward but it was James Kielt who finished the rout, the Kilrea man firing over the final three scores of the game to see off a tame Jordanstown challenge.

McIver sympathised with the opposition afterwards.

“It’s very difficult for Jordanstown to be missing their best players as it is for all the other universities,” he said.

“Something needs to seriously be sorted out,” added McIver, delighted to get a first victory as Derry boss.

UUJ, who have now lost both of their fixtures, face a daunting trip to Healy Park to play Tyrone on Wednesday night, while Derry entertain Antrim as the McKenna Cup reaches a climax.

Derry: T Mallon; C McWilliams (0-1), D McBride, B McCallion; C McAtamney (0-1), M Lynch, P Bradley (0-1); B Gormley, PJ McCloskey; E Lynn (0-1), C McFaul (1-1), D Heavron; C Devlin (0-2), E Bradley (0-2, 0-1f), J Kielt (0-5, 0-2f). Subs: L Kennedy for E Bradley (ht), G O'Kane for McCallion (52), K Johnston for McAtamney (52), J McCamley for Gormley (58), R Ferris for Lynn (63).

UUJ: M McReynolds; K Nugent, R Moore, D Quinn; E Wade, G McCartan; E Deeney; C Duffin (0-1f), C McKaigue; R Donnelly (0-2f), A Devlin (0-2, 0-1f), G McGovern; G O’Neill, E McGuckin (0-1), D Lynch. Subs: D Gorman for Nugent (20), D McEntee for Moore (42), R Corrigan for O’Neill (49), S McGarrity for McGovern (49), G Rennicks for Duffin (58).

Referee: Robbie O’Donnell (Donegal).

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here

From the web

Your Comments

COMMENT RULES: Comments that are judged to be defamatory, abusive or in bad taste are not acceptable and contributors who consistently fall below certain criteria will be permanently blacklisted. The moderator will not enter into debate with individual contributors and the moderator’s decision is final. It is Belfast Telegraph policy to close comments on court cases, tribunals and active legal investigations. We may also close comments on articles which are being targeted for abuse. Problems with commenting?

Read More

From Belfast Telegraph