Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Dublin move into final

Dublin defeated Kildare by 1-12 to 1-11 to reach the Leinster SFC final.

Paul Flynn grabbed a first half goal to help the Dubs to a six points interval lead.

But Kildare drew level after Eamonn O'Callaghan pulled back a goal for the Lilywhites, and Dublin needed a late Bernard Brogan free to seal their place in the decider.

Their opponents will be Wexford, who saw off Carlow by 4-12 to 0-10, with goals from Shane Roche (2), PJ Banville and Eric Bradley.

Mayo qualified for the Connacht SFC final with a 1-12 to 1-6 win over Galway at McHale Park.

Galway, with the help of a Paul Conroy goal, led by 1-5 to 0-4 at half-time, but Mayo took over in the second half.

They never looked back once Alan Freeman got in for a goal, and the Tribesmen managed only one point in the entire second period.

Donegal reached their first Ulster SFC final since 2006 with a 2-6 to 0-9 win over defending champions Tyrone at Clones.

Sean Cavanagh scored twice to help Tyrone to a 0-6 to 0-1 lead, but Colm McFadden and Kevin Cassidy responded to narrow the gap to 0-6 to 0-4 at the break.

McFadden grabbed a goal on 56 minutes, and Tyrone lost Kevin Hughes to a second booking. And Donegal sealed their place in the decider with a stoppage time goal from Dermot Molloy.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph