Belfast Telegraph

UK Website Of The Year

Home Sport GAA

Kickhams take Leinster SFC title

Ballymun Kickhams won their first Leinster Club SFC title with a 0-11 to 0-8 win over Portlaoise at Mulingar.

Portlaoise struggled for scores following Brian McCormack's early point, and it was Ballymun's Dean Rock who excelled in the art of finishing.

He converted five frees, and was denied a goal by Michael Nolan's superb save, with Kevin Leahy adding a point for a 0-6 t0 0-1 lead.

The Kickhams led by five points at the interval, and pushed on with further scores from Jason Whelan and Ted Furnam.

Brian Glynn and Barry Fitzgerald led a Portlaoise fightback as they narrowed the gap to three, but Whelan and Rock were on target again as the Dublin side held on for a three points win.

Kilcormac/Killoughey of Offaly held off the challenge of Wexford's Oulart the Ballagh to win the Leinster Club SHC title.

Daniel Currams gave Kilcormac a boost with an early goal, which still separated the teams at the halfway stage.

Oulart rallied with points from Conor O'Leary, Rory Jacob and Nicky Kirwan, but James Gorman and Peter Geraghty struck excellent scores to give the Offaly champions a 1-7 to 0-7 interval lead.

Brian Leonard shot Kilcormac into a four points lead, but Kirwan and David Redmond brought the Wexford men back to within two points.

It was Currams who made another crucial intervention with the two late scores that saw his side through to a 1-12 to 0-11 triumph.

Press Association

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph