Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Leitrim defeat Sligo to take FBD title

Leitrim won the FBD Connacht League for the first time with a 0-8 to 0-5 win over Sligo in the final at Markievicz Park.

They led by 0-5 to 0-2 at the interval, with Ray Cox, Emlyn Mulligan and Danny Beck hitting their scores.

Adrian Marren and Brian Egan narrowed the gap as the home side fought back, but a stoppage-time point from Brian McDonald proved to be the decisive score.

In hurling, Clare turned on the style in the second half to defeat UL by 3-13 to 1-13 in the Waterford Crystal Cup, with Nicky O'Connell, Seadna Morey and Alan O'Neill getting their goals.

Joe Canning was in sparkling form as Galway defeated Carlow by 2-15 to 1-9 in the Walsh Cup.

He scored his side's opening goal and set up the second for Damien Hayes to inspire the Tribesmen to a comfortable win.

Wexford came from behind to defeat Offaly by 1-24 to 1-15.

Derek Molloy scored an early Offaly goal but Wexford finished strongly with Mark Fanning sealing victory with a late goal.

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph