Belfast Telegraph

Home Sport GAA

Loughinisland are edged out by Hollymount

Loughinisland 0-10 - Hollymount-C 0-15

By Kevin Carney

The twin forces of Hollymount-Carramore proved too potent a cocktail for Loughinisland to imbibe at Kingspan/Breffni Park as the Mournemen exited the race to land this year's All-Ireland Club IFC crown.

The Mayo and Connacht champions belied their lack of pedigree and tradition to win most of the battles and, more importantly, the war to seal a date with St Mary's Cahirciveen (Kerry) in the final on February 6.

The history-making westerners led from gun to tape and were well worth their five point victory even if Loughinisland did help them along their way by failing to convert three gilt-edged goal chances in the second half.

The wind-aided would-be winners attacked the town end of the ground in the first half but apart from the expertise of free-taker Darren Coen didn't offer a consistent threat early on.

Indeed, when star man Rory Mason cut Hollymount-Carramore's lead to just a single point, 0-5 to 0-4, with a delicious point after 23 minutes, Loughinisland found themselves in the box seat for the first time in the match.

Loughinisland were gung-ho on the restart and needed to kick on with the elements on their side but they never managed to sufficiently eat into their opponents' 0-7 to 0-4 interval lead.

Jerome Johnston's men still trailed by 0-7 to 0-11 when Hollymount-Carramore 'keeper Niall Campbell produced two great diving saves midway through the second half to deny Loughinisland sub Stefan Mason in quick succession.

The Loughinisland think-tank used all the cards at their disposal and the introduction of Gareth Johnston in the 48th minute gave the chasing team a greater presence and threat. In the 57th minute, Rory Mason looked set to all but erase his side's 0-9 to 0-13 deficit but his goal-bound shot was deflected over the black spot by Hollymount-Carramore Darren McHugh and that was that.

LOUGHINISLAND: K Gordon; R Nixon, P Megoran, M Cochrane; P Digney, C O'Toole, R Mason (0-5, 1f); D O'Toole, D Gordon; J McCarthy (0-1), R Stranney, J Flynn; A McClements (0-1), C Megoran (0-1), S O'Hare. Subs: S Mason (0-1) for S O'Hare (h-t); P McKenny (0-1)for R Stranney (35); S Cochrane for P Digney (45); G Johnston for D O'Toole (48); D McLaughlin for J McCarthy (55); C Killen for S Cochrane (59).

HOLLYMOUNT-CARRAMORE: N Campbell; R Connolly, D McHugh, D Feerick; P Feerick, B Sheridan, R Molloy; K McNamara (0-1), S Coen (0-1); K Feerick (0-3, 3f), I Costello (0-1, 1f), K Costello; C Keane (0-1), D Coen (0-8, 5f), D Costello. Subs: C Heneghan for C Keane (42); L Macken for R Connolly (53); B Maloney for I Costello (58).

Ref: Niall Ward (Westmeath)


Belfast Telegraph

How to Complain

If you have a complaint about the editorial content of the Belfast Telegraph or Sunday Life then contact the Editor here. If you are not satisfied with the response provided then you can contact the Independent Press Standards Organisation here


From Belfast Telegraph